Picture
The main idea that we learned this week in class was to put emotion into our writing, to have some passion when we tell our story. Not only does it help you become a better writer, but it also intrigues the reader a lot more. When people can feel what you feel through words, I would consider it a powerful story, because that is not an easy thing to do. 

Learning that this week took time, it took me a while to really figure out the right words to use, I didn't want anything too simple but I didn't want anything to big that would not sound like me. 

We wrote a paper this week titled 'This I Believe' and it was about a belief that we had and with it we had to write something personal on why we believed that. it took me 3 days to figure out what I wanted to say, my belief kept changing. None of the things that I came up with sounded right to me. But I finally figured out that I need to just stick to it and write and put my emotions into it, it would come together. And it did, my story turned out well in my opinion. 

One other thing we learned this week was that stories are powerful, we learned that people tend to remember and listen better when they are told things through story, rather than being listed off. And I truly believe that, because stories catch our imagination, we get to picture things the way we want. I think that any story with the right wording and the right emotion put into can be powerful and make people listen. 

I really like what we are doing in class this week because it is helping me to write more than just words, it is helping me to put emotion into my writing and allowing my story to become personal. It can be hard, I'll admit. At first I was not a big fan of what we were doing, but now I like it and I'm really starting to get into a lot more. 

Andy Schoenborn
10/28/2013 12:16:23 pm

Hi Sophie,

What a wonderful post! I really enjoyed reading about what you learned - and it was a lot. You have a gift, don't squander it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.